Paper Boxes

 

In the steam of the mid day sun
We loaded up that old truck,
Stacked high as could be
Like gypsies on the run.

 

Box by box I sat and watched
As my thoughts were carried away;
All life’s lessons packed away
In each tiny paper box

 

But these paper boxes hold my heart
Won’t let these memories fade away.
Resist the urge to break them open
And move on from that day.
These paper boxes, so sturdy and so true
With the tape that binds them tight;
Will stand in my way and block my path
Until I can make things right.
Until then,
These paper boxes hold my heart

 

So life goes on,
That’s what they tell me.
But I can’t see a way past
This maze of paper boxes
And my mind is drowning fast.

 

Time flies, but stands still,
My life will still move on.
But my heart will forever be trapped
In these paper boxes
Until I break the tape and allow their contents to spill.

 

But these paper boxes hold my heart
Won’t let these memories fade away.
Resist the urge to break them open
And move on from that day.
These paper boxes, so sturdy and so true
With the tape that binds them tight;
Will stand in my way and block my path
Until I can make things right.
Until then,
These paper boxes hold my heart

Tell me what you think!

