Numbers

Things have been crazy around here lately, I haven’t found the time to blog much but I’ve got a few minutes so I thought I would talk about an idea that I came up with a few months ago, and just never wrote about.

When we first moved to this area of the world, one of the first things I noticed was that, rather than names, all of the roads are numbered.  I presume the reason is that it is a rural area and all of the roads are farm and ranch roads, which, for some reason, the road namer people thought it would make more sense to n number them.  Apparently they thought it made more sense, which it would, were the numbers actually in order.  But they’re not.

To say I’m directionally challenged is an understatement, I get lost, easily.  My first few explorations in this area led me to a number of unforseen adventures.  I can’t help but think that if the roads had names, it would be a little easier for me to get around.

To give you an example of what I’m talking about, here are the directions from my parents old house, to my old job.

  • left on 1230
  • left on 171
  • right on 917
  • left on 1902
  • right on 1187
  • left on 731
  • right on 20
  • left on 35
  • right on 170

That’s it, not one single named street.  How confusing!

Source: pixabay.com
Source: pixabay.com

And I’m not the only one that was initially perplexed by the strange naming system.  My mom was equally confused.  So what did we do?  We gave the numbered roads proper names, of course!

  • 1004 became Baby Cow Road (because the first time we drove on it, there was a pasture of baby cows at the intersection…duh!
  • 913 became Tower Road (Water Tower)
  • 909 is Horse Road (Because the place I board my horses is off of it)
  • The road leading to Horse Road (it’s a number, I’m sure, but I have no clue what it is) is Horse Mailbox Road (obvious)
  • 917 is S Curve Road
  • 1902 is Tire Road (There’s a tire shop on it)
  • 915 is HIdden Road (They’ve put a new freeway in, but this road used to be hard as heck to find because they never mowed around it)
  • 1230 is Cemetery Road

See?  Much easier!

Tell me what you think!

