I Guess I Just Wasn’t Meant to Be a World Champion Slam Dunker

It’s a short one today!  You’re welcome!

 

I got a case of the hiccups today and it made me think of when I was younger, my mom used to tell me that it meant I was growing.  I, of course, being a fairly impressionable youngster believed her, why would mom lie to me?  When I was little, I was fairly tall for my age. I always got to stand on the back row in class pictures, and was one of the taller kids in my class.  I thought that was cool, so I always welcomed a good case of the hiccups.  However, I apparently quit getting them around 6th grade, because I’ve pretty much been the height that I am now since then.  Conclusion, I’m not overly tall for an adult, not short, but certainly not winning and “tallest woman” world records.

It got me to thinking though, about all of the funny stories that we hear growing up.  Where do these “wives tales” come from, and why do we pass them on from generation to generation, forcing our young to believe they are true, only to have them thrown into reality when they grow up?

No wonder the human race is so messed up!  Everything we learn as a child is based on lies and superstition!

4 thoughts on “I Guess I Just Wasn’t Meant to Be a World Champion Slam Dunker

  1. I always gave honest answers to my kids because I didn’t want them growing up thinking a lie. Sometimes I felt bad doing so, so I’d skirt the issue a bit. For example, when my son was 5, he asked me if Santa was real. I couldn’t lie to him, so instead I said, “What do you think?” He thought for a moment and then said, “I think it would be impossible for him to get to all those houses.” I said, “Hmm, makes sense. But he’s fun to believe in for a bit, isn’t he?” And my son replied, “Yes. I think I’ll believe in him a little longer.” So even then, he clearly knew the man wasn’t real, but at least I didn’t feel like I ruined it for him!

Tell me what you think!

