Oh How I Missed You T9

So a few weeks ago, my “smart” phone (I use that term very loosely) basically decided it was done living, so much to the point that it will not even charge.  It won’t even make any effort at all.  Thankfully, my parents still had their old “dumb” phones from the same provider, so I’ve been able to just take the SIM card out of my phone and use one of theirs. 

Anyways, if you’ve never had to make the transition from a smart phone back to a dumb phone, there are a few things that take some getting used to.  Things that you used to be a whiz at, but now, since you haven’t done them, they seem to confound you.   One of these things is texting by using T9.

I understand that smart phones have the capability to use T9 as well, but with a full, onscreen, QWERTY keyboard, does anyone really do that?  Well, I don’t.  So, long story short, I’ve had to re-learn T9 all over again, and it has come at a cost a couple of times.

However, having to text with T9 has brought back some good memories.  My friends and I used to try to find random words, some of them common every day words, and type them into our phones and see what the first suggested word was.  Yeah, we really had no life back then…I can’t say much has changed.

Again, I understand that smart phones do this too, that’s why there’s a number of “autocorrect fail” websites out there.  But the way T9 mistakes the words you mean, and replaces them with random words, is just a little different.

Anyways, I thought I would share some of the autocorrects that I found rather amusing.  Some of these are ones that I remember from back in the day, others are new ones that I’ve just discovered.

What I meant to say was….

What the “dumb” phone thought I meant to say…

 

Lubbock (My home town)

Canal…and then Jacob

Bitch (because we all use this one at least once a day)

Citag…then church (haha)

Sheesh

Sheepish

Don’t

Foot

…and my personal favorite

 

Smirnoff (as in the alcoholic drink)

Poisoned

 

 

Tell me what you think!

