The Evolution of Communication

I’ll be the first to admit, I’ve never been a good communicator.  Orally at least, I AM a writer after all!  But I have to say, as I’ve gotten older, I’ve gotten better.  I remember in grade school teachers would approach my mom and tell them that they thought something was wrong with me, because I never talked. However, to this day, I would much rather communicate via text message or Facebook as opposed to actually speaking to a person one on one or on the phone.

Some people may see this as a fault, but after observing friends and family who are much more willing to speak their opinion, I’ve come to the conclusion that I’ve saved my butt from getting in A LOT of trouble.  I dunno, you can criticize me if you choose, but I think there’s something to be said for someone who can hold their tongue in almost any situation.  And for the most part, I haven’t suffered one bit.

Anyways, the reason I bring up the subject of communication is, I’ve had this idea for a blog for a long time, however, as most of you know, I haven’t exactly been present in the blog land lately, so I haven’t had a chance to bring it to life.  See, “the boy” and I communicate almost entirely in text messaging.  Not that we don’t speak to each other, but text messaging is just so convenient these days, and given that I don’t see him as often as most couples, it’s a good way to stay in touch, and annoy each other.  Just kidding, he doesn’t really annoy me…most of the time.

So, we use the same text messaging app, which allows us to send cute smileys and, even better, doodles to each other.  Sadly, it’s almost gotten to the point where we can carry on an entire conversation using strictly smileys and doodles…I suppose that’s not too bad, it shows we understand each other…maybe? I was going through my phone the other day, and since it automatically saves the doodles we send back and forth, I thought some of them were kinda funny and, despite the boys disdain, thought I would share them with you guys.

 

Alright…first up.

Image

 

 

Apparently this is what I look like when I walk my dogs.  Or maybe this is his depiction of me battling Cerberus?

Image

 

The best friend anyone can ever have.  Nappy monster regularly visits us on lazy days.

Image

 

OOOOHHHH scary shark!!!!

Image

 

It’s never a good day when you have sad feet, happy feet…or socks maybe?  are so much better!

Image

 

Oh no!  The fishees are drowning!  Someone call 911!  QUICK!!!

Image

Very few people know this, but there is a very special pillow in the boys house.  Very few people know this because, apparently the boy is ashamed of said pillow and always hides it when company comes over.  But this is my absolute favorite pillow in the world, thus I dubbed it “huggy pillow”….because it’s…well….huggable.  Anyways, this is a picture of him hogging huggy pillow.

Image

 

Because regular cows are for sissies.

 

And finally…

Image

 

I have no idea what the context of this one is but…if this is the way he sees me…I can’t help but wonder how we’ve made it this long!

 

5 thoughts on “The Evolution of Communication

  1. hehehe brilliant 😉 I’m afraid I don’t have a clever phone that allows me to draw things on it, but my boyfriend and kind of do the same… via face book stickers… and we live together, we are just to lazy to walk into the other ones work room, so we send a sticker along, if we are hungry, of a littlew green monster, pointing to its mouth… or somthing like that… no words needed…
    feels a lot like when you were a kid… should one worry for the future of our kind? 😉
    and your artic cow, what can I say… awesome 😉

    1. I see nothing wrong with our future being quirky! It’s good to know that a fair amount of us still have a sense of humor and know how to have fun! I think it’s a good thing that couples can communicate without really talking to each other…and as far as feeling like a kid, we actually have “kiddie” words that we use when talking, some might think it sounds immature, but I think it’s cute!

  2. These are so cute that I want to install a drawing app on my phone now. And I laughed out loud at huggy pillow. I have a couple of these on my bed, and I call them huggy pillows too.

    1. I really hope he’s reading the comments, he thinks I’m strange because I have “huggy” things, but he’s relented to referring to is as huggy pillow as well!

Tell me what you think!

