Birthdays, Blessings, and Bloody Fingers

So, I know I’ve said this before but, it’s been crazy around here.  If you were watching from the outside, you would think that I’ve had nothing but time on my hands, but the truth is, I find myself everyday wishing there were more hours in a day.  Anyways, the last couple of weeks have been a roller coaster, though I have to say, through all the things that have gone on, I would be a fool not to admit that I am truly blessed with some amazing people in my life.

Last week included a lot of moving and trying to figure out where the next chapter of my life would begin.  Without giving out too many details, I was laid off from my job, due to no fault of my own, and since part of my compensation was my house, I had to make the quick decision to move in with my parents until I can find something new.  Luckily, they welcomed me, and my three dogs, with open arms.   They even managed to make some calls and find a place for my two horses, it would have destroyed me to face the reality of letting someone else have them.  Again, I’m blessed.

Though I’m truly thankful for their kindness, love, and support, I can’t help but feel slightly humbled by this experience.  Sunday was my 31st birthday, I hardly find it glamorous to admit that I’ve moved back in with my parents at this age, but I have to put that aside and look at the big picture.  If not for them, I would be dogless, horseless, and quite frankly, homeless.

On Thursday, I got the call that I had to pick my mom up from work and take her to the hospital because my step dad had had an accident while at work.  Turns out, he decided it would be a good idea to get into a fight with a skill saw.  The saw won.

So after six to seven hours of sitting in the waiting room, we found out that he had completely cut his pinky finger off and the damage was beyond repair.  Now comes the wait to see if the adjacent ring finger will be able to be saved.  They are actually at the doctor as we speak to figure out the next steps on that one.  

At the end of the day though, it definitely could have been worse.  Thankfully it wasn’t his thumb, you have no idea how important thumbs are until you don’t have them!  My grandfather had, for as long as I knew him, a missing pinky finger from a similar accident.  Boys will be boys I suppose, they really should ban men from using saws!

I have to be thankful again, for the overwhelming outpouring of love and support that my family has received.  We truly have some amazing people in our lives, I can’t even begin to express how much those people mean to us.  

Being the somewhat morbid/gruesome person that I am, I started to post pictures of his hand because I honestly think it looks kinda cool.  But I refrained from that, because I understand some people have weak stomachs.  But if enough of you want to see it, I will happily share!

I guess that’s it for now, I know I keep promising to return to normal scheduling, and I will, eventually.  Things just need to even out a little bit, maybe I’ll try to harass the boy for a boy word later, as an effort to get back to some normalcy!

 

2 thoughts on “Birthdays, Blessings, and Bloody Fingers

  1. uhu, best wishes for your step dad, I hope he recovers in the best way possible….
    And I’m so glad to hear that you get to keep your dogs and your horses… I hope you work things out… 🙂

    1. I think he’s gonna be okay, we are still waiting to hear whether or not he will have to have surgery! Things are going well around here, just waiting for everything to get back to normal, which around here, isn’t all that normal after all!

Tell me what you think!

