The thing I hate about being a veterinarian

Not my usual blend of satirical happiness, but since I always wanted to be a vet, and went to school to be one, just never finished, I found this blog very interesting.

Side note: Things have been super crazy around here the last few days, I’m hoping things will let up soon and I can go back to regular posts!

hstdvm

In my day to day life as a veterinarian, there is something that I dread doing. This particular thing makes me squirm, twitch, drool and retch. I try to avoid it at all costs, and I consider myself to be blessed if I have technicians willing to do it for me. Want to guess what it is?

Expressing anal glands? (Nope. I secretly think it is rewarding to do this)

Doing a dental on a pus filled, rotting mouth? (Fun times!)

Sifting through dog puke to make sure it threw up all the rat poison? (Love it, even though I am a sympathy puker)

Draining a 4 day old, putrid, maggot infested cat bite abscess? (No, although dealing with maggot wounds sometimes makes me reconsider my career choices.)

As gross and vomit inducing as all of the above may be, the thing I hate doing the most as a veterinarian is…

View original post 1,357 more words

Tell me what you think!

