Boy Words: Volume 4

I know I usually do these on Tuesday but yesterday just wasn’t a good night for me to blog.  So to those of you who were waiting with baited breath for this weeks edition of Boy Words, I apologize, though, I find it hard to believe that anyone other than the boy was really upset.

Anyways…on with the show!

Today’s Boy Word: Cylon

Let me start by saying; pre-boy Sam hated just about anything to do with science fiction.  I just didn’t care for it.  But the boy changed my mind on a lot of things, I entered the relationship with a fairly open mind, and accepted the challenges he presented me with.  I had never seen Star Wars, for example, which was just ridiculous in his opinion and he very quickly changed that, by making me watch all of them.  And I enjoyed it to be honest.

Another of these adventures that he sent me on, was Battlestar Galactica.  I had heard of the show and I didn’t really think it was going to be worth the hype that he made it out to be.  But like the good little girlfriend I am, I watched it.

I was pretty much hooked after one episode.  I would make dates with him purely for the reason that I could watch the next episode, that’s really all I cared about, he had nothing to add to the equation, except a home cooked meal.  That’s all that matters in a relationship anyways right?  Free entertainment and food?

Anyways, for those of you who have never watched this show (and for all intensive purposes, I’m referring to the newer series that began in 2004, I’m sure the older versions are wonderful, I’ve just never seen them) Cylons are the bad guys….or are they?

The premise of the show starts out as your basic “good vs evil” type drama and continues to throw different twists in from time to time to keep you guessing and asking who is good and who is evil.

Basically, humans created robotic drones and soldiers to do their dirty work for them.  Freaking lazy humans!  There are three types of Cylon:

Raiders, basically living spaceships

source: fanpop.com
source: fanpop.com

Centurions, robot soldiers

centurion
source: fanpop.com

and “skin jobs”, the masterminds of the Cylon race that have mastered human form and, for awhile, go unnoticed as they live out their day to day lives amongst the human population.

"Six" as portrayed by Tricia Hefner, who, I just want to add, I've met in real life, and I can promise you, she is the most gorgeous woman on the face of the planet
“Six” as portrayed by Tricia Hefner, who, I just want to add, I’ve met in real life, and I can promise you, she is the most gorgeous woman on the face of the planet Source: fanpop.com

 

 

So the entire series is basically a long battle between the Cylons, whose beliefs are basically Christian, and the humans, who believe in several different deities, much like the ancient Romans or Greeks.  Because of the humans’ beliefs, Cylons see them as sinners, unpure, and feel that they do not deserve the lives they have, thus their justification for attempting to eradicate the entire human race.

And and interesting fact, for those of you that are still reading, Cylon stands for Cybernetic Lifeform Node.

So there you have it, Cylons.  I must say, I’m not overly proud of today’s edition of Boy Words,and I left out A LOT of stuff, but please don’t quit reading my blog, or future boy words…I just wasn’t feeling it today.

I’m sorry boy.

3 thoughts on “Boy Words: Volume 4

  1. hehe I hated sci fi when I met my boyfriend… fantasy I adored, byt sci fi, no way…
    He have not yet convinced me to watch star wars, since I just cant stop laughing when ever those stupid little robots show up…
    star trek, yes, and battlestar galatica…. yes…. I got to admit, I did only make it through the first two seasons… it COULD have been a great story, really, I love the whole cylon vs human, who is really the bad guys here thing, they just don’t use it enough… I kind of got bored… also, I am really lousy at watching anything with no hot guys in it… and let’s be honest, the hottest guy is Starbuck, even is he is a woman in the new show… 😛
    and one thing that kept bothering me was their constant use of the frack word… that’s just so… I don’t know, it was funny at first, kind of like when Elliot in Scrubs says Frick, but the whole Frack thing is just used far too much… sorry, not a huge fan yet 😉

    1. Haha, well to be honest, the good vs evil thing does get better later on in the season, they pretty much flip the entire scenario, one person at a time. And I guess I was already desensitized to the “frack” thing because when I met the boy, he used it a lot. I didn’t know where it came from, I just thought he made it up…then I realized he was doing it more to be funny than to actually show frustration.

Tell me what you think!

