Humor…Who Needs It?

As of late, several people whom I know personally have made a habit of telling me that they LOVE reading my blog; they read it and just laugh and laugh.  That’s great news, and I’m super happy to hear this, because in all honesty, that’s pretty much the only reason I ever set out to do this blogging thing in the first place.  I try to be as light-hearted and “funny” as I know how to be.

Over the past however many posts I’ve made to this point, I have written many humorous pieces. I have also written many pieces that were only funny to myself, but they were still amusing to someone. In fact, I have had people go as far as to say I am “funny.”

Some days, though, I do not feel funny.

It isn’t that I don’t want to be funny. I do. As much as I say I don’t like it, receiving an “LOL” or a nice winky-face emoticon is very fulfilling. I like to think that people are chuckling or guffawing at some of the ridiculous things I have pointed out in life. Maybe somewhere, someone is giggling at an inappropriate time because of something I have written.

As it turns out, though, being comical can wear on you. I constantly find myself watching people, hoping they will do something ridiculous that I can share for the amusement of the millions upon millions that read my blog. (Editor’s note: This should read dozens. Don’t tell Sam that, though. She would like to remain in her bubble of self-importance.)

Humor can start stressing me out. At times like this, I begin to think of new blogs I could possibly write. Maybe a nice interior decorating blog, though I would have to learn how to decorate interiors first. A cooking blog would be fun, but eventually it would just be me slapping different types of meat on a George Foreman grill. No one would read that.

(Completely unrelated side note: Every time I type the word “blog,” my computer pops up the red squiggly lines that mean “that isn’t a word, you big stupid idiot.” This post is riddled with these lines and recommendations that I meant to write about my “bog” or “bloc.” I have never written a “blot,” but maybe that would be easier. I should look into that.)

Maybe I am going about this whole blog thing the complete wrong way. Maybe I shouldn’t try to be funny. I should just post adorable pictures like this:

All together now...AWWWWWWWWWW Source: fanpop.com

Everyone loves an adorable kitten. If they don’t, it is quite possible that they are the most heartless and evil human being on the planet. Or that they have been around kittens. Kittens can be super-annoying.

So, I am sorry that I am not funny today. I am also sorry if you think I am never funny, though if that is the case you should probably find something better to do with your time than read this blog.

I recommend cooking with a Foreman Grill. It is really easy.

