Dammit I’m Mad!

I’m lacking inspiration tonight but still feel compelled to write something.  Darn this blog obsession!

Thankfully, someone posted the following picture on Facebook tonight.

972149_490570384345987_2010563601_n

So I got to thinking, why not make a post about palindromes?  They’re an interesting part of the English language, a sort of ironic anomaly that only occurs once in a blue moon.

I remember when I first learned about these suspicious creatures, I learned that words like “mom”, “dad”, “pop”, and “race car” were all spelled the same forwards and backwards.  That’s pretty exciting to a small child.  I remember racing home to tell my mom that her name was special because it was the same no matter how you looked at it.

I suppose, though, the most intriguing thing about palindromes is that the name we chose to give them as a family itself, is NOT a palindrome.  Who’s brilliant idea was that?

We have these awesome words yet, we can’t come up with a better name for them?  The cool thing about palindromes is their flexibility yet, the name we choose for them spelled backwards is…Semordnilap!

That sounds like something I would yell at Winston for vaulting himself off the back of the couch directly onto my stomach while I’m deep in nappy land.  Trust me, it’s happened more than once, not a pretty picture!

Anyways, I found some fun palindromes that I thought I would share with you guys for…well if nothing else, a good laugh!

Let’s start off simple:

Don’t nod

Makes sense no matter which way you look at it.  Nodding can be very dangerous for one’s health.  If you ever find yourself in the middle of a conversation and all you can do to respond is nod, well, you know that you are in for it because you have no clue what is going on!

Dogma: I am God

I’ve researched the word “dogma” to an extent and I gotta be honest, I still don’t understand what it means, but it has something to do with beliefs and ideas, basically it’s a word used to relate to a thought that is without a doubt, true.  That last sentence however, was not a “dogma” because, as I said, I really have no clue what the word means. Regardless, this is sort of a chilling phrase if you really think about it.  Is it merely coincidental???

Never odd or even

Well then what the heck are you? Let’s just forget the fact that this one is grammatically incorrect! (It should be never odd NOR even, but who’s keeping score?)

Ah, Satan sees Natasha

Poor Natasha, God rest her soul

Do geese see God?

Anyone else noticing that a lot of these phrases have to do with God?  The further and further I get with this blog the more aware I’m becoming that, coincidences aside, there’s something trippy going on here!

As I pee, sir, I see Pisa!

This one made me laugh, I just had to add it for comedy relief.

And finally…try THIS on for size!

Dennis, Nell, Edna, Leon, Nedra, Anita, Rolf, Nora, Alice, Carol, Leo, Jane, Reed, Dena, Dale, Basil, Rae, Penny, Lana, Dave, Denny, Lena, Ida, Bernadette, Ben, Ray, Lila, Nina, Jo, Ira, Mara, Sara, Mario, Jan, Ina, Lily, Arne, Bette, Dan, Reba, Diane, Lynn, Ed, Eva, Dana, Lynne, Pearl, Isabel, Ada, Ned, Dee, Rena, Joel, Lora, Cecil, Aaron, Flora, Tina, Arden, Noel, and Ellen sinned.

UNLESS I missed typed something, it really is the same, forwards and backwards, don’t believe me, check it out for yourself…have fun with that!

2 thoughts on “Dammit I’m Mad!

    1. haha! I won’t lie, it took me a long time to check it out. I had to make sure it was actually what it said it was before posting it…can’t be lying to people ya know!

Tell me what you think!

