Will Someone Find Charley and Tell Him to Come Get His Horse?

I’m sure I speak for just about everyone when I say “We’ve all experienced the excruciating pain of a ‘Charley Horse’” and if you haven’t, well quit reading because I currently hate your guts and want nothing to do with you!

 

I don’t know what to compare the pain of a Charley Horse to but I know that they are almost unbearable and what’s even worse is even after you finally get the muscle to chill out, it still aches for like two days afterwards.  I’ve been getting them kind of regularly lately and I guess I have no one to blame but myself, I’ve always heard they are caused by a potassium deficiency and since I can’t stand bananas I don’t get a lot of the stuff on a day to day basis.

Yup, that pretty much sums it up
Photo credit: Icanhascheezburger.com

 

Anyways, ever since I hurt my ankle, the pain from Charley Horses in my right leg has intensified tenfold.  I don’t know if it’s because my ankle still isn’t fully healed or what but anytime I get one, the only way I can describe the way I feel is that the cramp is actually inside the bone of my ankle, it’s extremely painful, just take my word for it.

 

So there I was last night, lying in bed, sleeping sweetly, minding my own business when it happened.  Out of no where good old Charley forgot to close the gate and his horse escaped, trampling my right leg to pieces in an effort to find freedom.

 

If you’ve never been awaken by such a thing, I don’t recommend it.  I shot out of bed faster than a rocket full of monkeys and crashed to the floor.  Now I was in trouble, anyone with a Charley Horse or cramp knows that it’s next to impossible to bend your leg in the middle of one and in my late night stupor, I just couldn’t quite figure out how to get up with only one leg.

 

Finally, I managed to crawl up the side of the bedroom wall like some crazy possessed extra reject from “The Exorcist.”  I managed to get my foot to straighten out enough to stand on the leg and walk around for a few minutes which finally put the cramp at ease.

 

Now I was up and once I wake up I’m pretty much up for the rest of the morning.  Seeing as it was 3:45 and I planned on waking up at 4:30 anyways, it wasn’t really a big deal.  So, still in a slight daze from being so rudely awaken, I stumbled to the bedroom door and opened it.  It was at this point that my dogs decided it was time to wake up and go outside, no problems there however, Winston is pretty darn clumsy when he’s wide awake and a half asleep Winston is no better.  Long story short, I found myself face planting into the hallway wall and rolling down the side, landing on my back where I was so graciously pounced on by three excited dogs.

 

I finally got the dogs off of me and outside and proceeded to walk around the kitchen.  Now, I wear contacts all the time except for when I sleep, without them I’m VERY blind.  (Not sure if I’m considered legally blind yet or not, my mom is and my vision is right there with her)  Because I’m blind, I’ve learned to get around places with little to no light and usually have no issues with it however, this morning was different.  I managed to stump my toe not once, not twice, but THREE times!  Same toe, which just so happens to be on the same foot/leg that was still trying to recover from the world’s worst Charley Horse.  I finally got wise and put my contacts in.

 

I’d like to think that we all have mornings that start off like this, at least I really, really, hope so.  That being said please humor me and tell me about one of your worst starts to a day!  Did the entire day go along the same course or did it finally pick up?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Will Someone Find Charley and Tell Him to Come Get His Horse?

  1. Those middle of the night cramps are torture. I get mine in the foot or the calf. Nothing propels me out of bed quicker than one of those babies.

    Wow, you get up early. I thought my 5:45 am wake-up when the kids are in school was bad.

    I can’t think of a bad start to a day right now, but I know it will come to me later, probably in the middle of the night. 🙂

    1. It’s almost as bad when you wake up with random thoughts like that in the middle of the night. I’m just gonna go ahead now and say that I am NOT responsible for making you jolt out of bed in the middle of the night screaming, “Oh yes! That was the worst start to a day ever!”

      I’m very much an early riser, I’m usually out at the stable by about 5 cleaning out stalls and feeding horses. Even on days that I take off from horse duty “sleeping in” is 6am. I absolutely LOVE that time of day though! It’s so peaceful.

      1. It is a peaceful time. I always feel better about myself when I’m up early, getting the day started. Of course, that doesn’t mean I roll out of bed dancing…

        And if I wake up in the middle of the night tonight with a response, I won’t blame you. But I will think about you. 🙂

Tell me what you think!

