All Dogs go to Heaven….Unless, Of Course, They’re Winston

What’s up?  It’s been a hot minute (one month and 5 days to be exact!)  It’s been a pretty crazy month or so, so much stuff going on.

I’ll be brief in my re-cap:

Fireworks:  For as long as I can remember, my family has run a fireworks stand come every Fourth of July and again for New Years Eve.  In fact, this past season marked 26 years meaning they started this whole adventure when I was only three years old.  So it’s pretty much been a part of me my entire life.  I know a completely different world of fireworks from most people.  For the most part, it’s fun, I have a boundless supply of explosives at my disposal pretty much all year and, considering I’m a bit of a pyro-maniac, that’s pretty cool.

It’s also a bit of a nuisance.  For two to three weeks a year I pretty much have no life whatsoever.  First of all, the stand sits in my father’s front yard because at the time that we started my parents were still married and it made so much more sense to put the stand in an easily accessible place.  Understandable however, I now live over 300 miles away from my father’s house.  I’ve learned to spend my summers in a cramped motel room with my mother for two weeks.

Now if you know anything about me at all, you know that I’m not much of a people person.  I would much rather choose the life of a hermit than an out going, social butterfly.  And though it IS my mother, someone I know and am comfortable with, at the same time, it is my MOTHER and, God knows I love her dearly but, she drives me INSANE.  And it’s not even the fact that it’s my mother, it could be anyone, if I have to spend more than 12 hours straight with any single person, I’m  pretty likely to go all Mount Vesuvius on that person before it’s over with!

To make things better, the day before we left I stepped off the porch steps, just as I have done every day of my life, and for whatever reason my ankle decided that it just didn’t want to work at the moment and down I went.  It’s been almost a month and the darn thing is still swollen but luckily I was able to walk on it pretty soon…that would have been a disaster had I not been able to go to fireworks this year!

The Wonderful World of New Mexico:  Four days after getting home from fireworks, the boy and I took a four day trip to New Mexico.

It doesn’t get much prettier than that folks!
Okay…maybe it does

I’ve been before but I was very young and quite honestly, I learned quickly that the state was nothing like I had portrayed it to be in my memory.  I remember it being much like west Texas, dry, dirty, ugly, not much to look at and don’t get me wrong; part of the state IS that way.  But the first night we drove into Ruidoso and I was instantly in love.  I seriously wish I had the money to just pack up and move there right this very moment.  It’s such a charming little town and of course staying in a log cabin way up in the mountains definitely has its appeal.  One of my absolute favorite parts of the trip was waking up in the morning, taking the trash out and looking up to see a giant bull elk standing about thirty yards away without a care in the world.

Something else I learned about this quaint little town is that it still lives by the old rules of yesteryear.  Pretty much everything, including convenience stores and Walgreens which we take for granted to be open 24/7, closes around 9pm.  We went to eat at an amazing little Italian restaurant and when we asked what time they closed the waitress just shrugged her shoulders and said “I think we are going to try to close about 8:30 tonight”

What?  You don’t have a set time to close?  You just close when you feel like it?  My how wonderful to live and work in such a carefree atmosphere.

The second day found us winding through the mountains of Cloudcroft; an even more relaxed and beautiful little town.  We eventually came back the next day and hiked up one of the mountains, something I’ve never done but always wanted to do.  We eventually moved down to the Alamogordo area where we visited White Sands, which I have to admit was WAY cooler than I had ever expected.

I came, I saw, I conquered

We finished the trip up with a visit to Carlsbad where we went to the Living Desert Museum and Zoo and of course a visit to the caverns.

I was so very thankful for a bit of a break from reality.  For four entire days I never once thought about bills or stressful work situations.  It was the most amazing four days I’ve had in a long time!

I’ll miss you New Mexico!

Back home….

 

I guess all good things have to come to an end eventually.  I’m starting to get back into the normal routine of things.  By now I guess you’re probably wondering what in the world the title of this post has to do with anything that I’ve said.

I’ve mentioned my dear, sweet, lovable Olde English Bulldogge Winston, on a couple occasions in the past.  For quite sometime, Winston has been a very popular subject of entertainment amongst my friends and Facebook followers.  If you’ve ever read or watched “Marley and Me” you will understand what I mean when I say that Winston is an “Extreme Marley”, in fact, he pretty much makes Marley look like the best, most well behaved dog ever to walk yet, for some reason, I continue to love this dog.

I was really putting this off, more for the reason that I hoped he would eventually grow out of it but seeing as he will be two in September and hasn’t changed much at all, I figure I might as well begin documenting his lovely, spunky, careless, clumsy behavior.  So I’ve decided to create a blog for Winston.

Go check it out;(I haven’t made it pretty yet, I’ll work on it thought!) I think the first blog entry will make it pretty obvious where I got the idea for the title of this post and blog!

6 thoughts on “All Dogs go to Heaven….Unless, Of Course, They’re Winston

    1. It was so much better than I had anticipated. I knew I was going to enjoy it just because I was SOO ready to get away but it was easily one of the top 5 favorite vacations. I especially loved the 55 degree weather up in those mountains!

Tell me what you think!

