Crash! Boom! Bang!

I accidentally came across this video (warning: this is a video of a car crash in which there is no way the driver/passengers could have survived.  May be disturbing) which in turn resulted in a sudden obsession with watching car crash videos.  A car crash is just one of those things that you can’t ignore no matter how hard you try.

As I was immersing myself in the world of car crashes I found myself asking the same question video after video.  How is it that all of these crashes were caught?  The majority of these seemed to be recorded from the driver’s or passengers seat.  Meaning that the people in the car were randomly recording themselves driving down the road.

Oh dear, that’s not gone well!
Photo credit: villageoflombard.com

Who does this?  Am I missing out on something?  Is it normal to record yourself doing what arguably may be one of the most monotonous and boring things on the planet?  What is so extraordinary about driving?

I could understand a little better if perhaps they were tourist and they were video taping the scenery around them, or perhaps if they were in some really cool high performance car and they were racing and weaving in and out of traffic (not saying I condone that!).  But the majority of these were people in normal cars, driving down normal highways, behaving normally.  A small hand full of them were caught on CCTV or came from commercial vehicles equipped with dash cams but the majority of them weren’t.

The one thing I did notice by paying attention to road signs, listening to conversations in the car, and music on the radio: they almost all seemed to be foreign.  Is this some sort of trend that occurs overseas perhaps?

I’m intrigued now and almost want to start recording my daily drives, problem is, I’m pretty sure I would probably end up on the wrong side of the accident!

Have you seen something lately that makes you say “Do people really do that?”  Please share!

5 thoughts on “Crash! Boom! Bang!

  1. You’re not kidding that accident was horrible. If that doesn’t get people to drive more carefully, I don’t know what will. I, too, have wondered who’s recording these things.

    One thing that’s struck me while out of town these past few days, is how many people use their cell phone while driving (talking or texting). I mean, I know it’s a problem, but I can’t believe how many people I saw doing it on the highway and in the city. Hang up people!

    1. Yeah I don’t think the cell phone thing will ever stop. No matter how many laws they make against it, how many warnings they send, people will continue to try to find ways around it.

      They’ve started putting ads on TV now featuring people who were supposedly injured in car crashes or the people who were texting a friend or family member who was subsequently killed because of that text. It doesn’t get any more real than that and sadly, I don’t think it will have much effect.

Tell me what you think!

