When Shower Curtains Attack

I’m sure I’ve probably whined about this before (yes, I just looked this up) but I pretty much never get my “me” time.  As an introvert that is a very difficult thing for me to deal with, sometimes I just need to be left alone, most people don’t get that.

 

Anyways, I stay very busy most of the time, I leave my house between 5:15 and 5:20 every morning, and I get home around 5:30 in the evening.  Every day when I get home the ritual looks the same.  I walk in the door, go directly to my bedroom in the back of the house, change out of my work clothes into jeans, turn back around and walk out the door, get in my car, and go to my parents’ house to take care of horses.  By the time I’m done with the horses it’s usually around 8:30, I get home at 9:00 and am in bed by 9:30.

 

And people wonder why I have no clue what they are talking about when they ask me if I watch “The Voice.”

 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining one bit but every once in awhile my body revolts against me and says “Enough is enough”.  This is what happened last night.

 

While feeding the horses, it hit me – that nauseating, draining, achy, feeling.  It felt almost like I was coming down with the flu.  I was suddenly extremely exhausted, I had a pounding headache, my body ached all over, and I was shaking uncontrollably. I finally got the horses up, went home and pretty much dove directly into a hot bath tub.

 

I have a TV in my bedroom and I have this habit of turning it on when I soak in the tub.  I can’t see it from where my bath tub is, but I just like to have the noise.  So last night since I was kind of out of it, as I relaxed in the warm water, I started to drift off to sleep.  Not very safe I know, but I was in that “in between asleep and awake” state, not completely asleep but not 100% alert either.

 

As I’ve mentioned before, I live pretty darn close to the World’s Busiest Train Tracks so I get pretty used to hearing train horns that tend to get pretty loud.  So last night whatever was on my TV had something to do with a train.  The horn started just like any other that I’m used to hearing however I’m sure on the show it was coming towards the camera which made it sound as if it was coming towards me.

 

You can’t always be held responsible for the things you do when you are in the half conscious state that I was in.  I heard the sound of the horn coming closer and closer and panicked.  I apparently thought that it was a real train and that apparently the tracks had been re-located to go right through the middle of my house.  I jumped up, flailing around and flip flopping like a fish on a trotline.

 

In all of my flailing I managed to catch the shower curtain, pulling it down and the rod caught me square in the middle of the forehead.  So here I was: naked, cold, and still thinking that a train was coming to cut me in half.  I was a mess, needless to say.

 

Thankfully the rod didn’t hit me hard enough to leave a mark and I didn’t have to make up some false story to describe the circle shaped bruise placed squarely on my forehead.  I can only imagine what fun my co-workers would have had with the real story.  They’re not always the kindest people to know when you have been put in compromising situations.

 

Yup, that was pretty much what I looked like…however, I don’t shower with clothes on….weirdo!!!
Photo Credit: Collegehumor.com

Sadly, this isn’t the first time this has happened to me.  When I first got Winston, he decided he wanted to jump in the bath tub with me.  He found out quickly that he was not interested in what the steamy water had to offer him and tried to make an emergency exit, his collar catching the very end of the shower curtain and KERPLOP down goes curtain rod right on mama’s head.  Had he been a child I’m sure the ringing in my ears would have been followed up by a hearty guffaw from him.

 

So all in all, it turned out okay, no saucers on the forehead and I’m pretty much feeling like myself again this morning.  I think someone is trying to tell me that I need to take a break and just chill!  Oh if I could just take a week off and do nothing!  Thank goodness I don’t have kids!

3 thoughts on “When Shower Curtains Attack

  1. First of all, I’m so glad you weren’t hurt. Bathtub injuries are not known for being kind. But now that I know you’re all right, what a great laugh you gave me! Probably because I could see myself doing the same thing, as could anyone who knows me. 🙂

    1. I actually read a statistic one time that 500 people die every year as a result of bath tub related accidents.

      Dear Lord don’t let me go that way!

Tell me what you think!

