Spam Sandwich

Before I start this blog I just want to note that I can not take credit for the idea behind this post.  A similar post was made by Curly Carly a few weeks ago and I’m normally not the type to copy people or their ideas but I experienced this this morning and wanted to do my own version or what Curly Carly already touched on.  You can read her original post here.

The WordPress website is (thankfully) smart enough to be able to filter out comments that appear to be spam.  Not to discredit the site for it’s ability to do so but it’s pretty easy for the human eye to pick up on these, if the advertising pitches don’t give them away, the obvious lack of the English language is sure to confirm your suspicions.

I don’t really make a habit of checking the comments in the spam folder but this morning I decided to see what was going on in there, some of them can be quite comical (as you will see) but for the most part, they just don’t make sense.

The main reason I decided to do this however, was because one of them hit me as almost tragic and actually made me quite angry.  It wasn’t necessarily because of what it said, but rather where it was posted.

A few days ago I posted about a little baby girl named Avery and her battle with a very serious and fatal disease, a battle which she ultimately lost.  I also touched on the subject of a friend of mine who lost her baby during delivery.  This was a very serious blog, I wanted no comical over tone at all on this subject as the death of babies is not something to be taken lightly.  When I checked my spam folder this morning I found myself extremely thankful that this spammer comment never actually posted.

This website is realy nice! I just wanna say thank you for sharing this kind of sex-dating information with us.

When I was freelance writing, I learned a little about SEO and how certain keywords bring up certain articles in search engines. For the life of me I can’t imagine what keyword was tagged on this blog to warrant a spam comment like this.  The keywords tagged in this post were:

  • Avery’s Bucket List
  • Awareness
  • Babies
  • Death of a child
  • Death of a baby
  • Health
  • Losing a child
  • Losing baby
  • Medicine
  • Motherhood
  • Pregnancy
  • SMA Type 1

What about any of those keywords leads a search engine to think it was an article related in any way, shape, or form, to sex dating?

Ugh….in and effort to combat the frustration I felt after seeing that comment, I felt it necessary to provide some comic relief.  Here are some of the funnier comments that were waiting for me in my spam folder. (Note, I’ve copied the comments exactly as they were posted, all mistakes in grammar are intentional)

Reader Appreciation:  The Great Fishy Giveaway of 2012

Good web site! I truly love how it is simple on my eyes and the data about online pharmacy licensed are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick! Have a great day!

First of all, I’m truly elated that my site doesn’t make your eyes burn every time you look at it.  That’s something I put a lot of thought into and want to make sure that my readers don’t have to wear sunglasses every time they come here to read something.  Secondly, it makes my heart happy that giving away a stuffed fish provided a wealth of knowledge for you regarding online pharmacy, which was my whole intention with this post, I’m so glad someone recognized it!  I hope the RSS feed continues to send my drug addicted stuffed animals your direction!

Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more clear from this post about “causes of obesity”. I am very glad to see such wonderful information being shared freely out there.

I hope that you and your neighbor continue to read my blogs about how winning free fish can keep you from gaining weight.  (Seriously? That’s all I had to do to lose weight?)  I am so glad that word is getting out however, do not stop going to your “area library”, I’m sure you can find something there that will teach you how to make complete sentences so that you can continue to “learn more clear”.

You Have Died of Dysentery

Just wish to say your article is as surprising. The clearness in your post is just great and i can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

Why yes in fact, I do happen to be an expert at dying from dysentery, I’ve done it a number of times.  I can tell you that it’s not nearly as bad as people make it out to seem.  Diseases like dysentery, polio, and AIDS get such a bad reputation these days.  I think I shall make it my mission to change the way the world looks at these diseases.

4 thoughts on “Spam Sandwich

  1. Thanks for the shout out!

    I’m glad you shared your spam with us. I have to assume the spammers find your site with search terms but then post unrelated comments. I don’t know how else they would have found your post mentioned above (that was a good post by the way).

    1. I really don’t understand spam either. I do get a few that are advertisements but a lot of them are just so random, what exactly is the point?

  2. Spam can be quite interesting, can it not? If I ever need a pick-me-up, I read it–it’s always so complimentary 😉

    BTW, received Fishy! He is looking at me right now as I type this. He keeps me company on my desk. I’m trying to think of a blog post where I might incorporate him. Thanks again!!

    1. Yay! I’m so glad he finally made it! It’s fun to have blogging buddies!

      And yes, Spam is quite comical, I get a kick out of the obvious language barrier in most of them.

Tell me what you think!

