Happy Birth-a-death-a-versary?

I’m super busy today at work so I had to come up with something pretty short and rather un-creative.  I still think it’s pretty interesting though.  Enjoy!

 

Apparently April 30 has historically been a pretty exciting day!

 

For starters, my best friend that I’ve known since I was 5 years old turns 30 today.  I want to wish her a very happy birthday, even though today is a stark reminder that 4 months from now I will be facing the same fate.  Thankfully, I’ve never been one to get caught up on age so hopefully I will be okay, we shall see in August how well I’m holding up!

 

It also seems that today was the fateful day that, in 1945, Adolf Hitler along with wife Eva Braun locked themselves away in a bunker and took their own lives.

 

Wow, that’s a little too solemn of a way to start a Monday now isn’t it?  Well no worries because seven years later on April 30, 1952 something extraordinary and super cool happened!  The world was introduced to what could possibly be the coolest tuber ever, Mr. Potato Head.

 

photo credit: mrpotatohead.net

The cool spud had actually been around for a few years and even got his start back when our friend Hitler was still alive but Mr. Head’s claim to fame on this day is that he was the first toy ever to be introduced in a TV commercial.  One year later he had a friend who has lovingly become known as Mrs. Potato Head.

 

I love stories about old toys; it brings me back to my younger years.  Being an only child, toys and imagination were two very important things to possess.  I remember playing in the back yard or my bedroom for hours.  Honestly, looking back on my childhood, I have to think that my parents were pretty darn lucky.  I pretty much kept myself holed up in my room or in the back yard for hours on end and rarely was I the “I’m bored’ child.

 

Here are the toys I remember having growing up:

 

  • Barbies
  • My Little Pony
  • Rainbow Brite
  • Strawberry Shortcake
  • Breyer Horses
  • Glo Worm
  • Care Bears
  • Mr. and Mrs. Potato Head
  • Cabbage Patch Dolls
  • My Buddy/ Kid Sister
  • Teddy Ruxpin and Grubby
  • Popples
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
  • Heman
  • Skeletor
  • GI Joe
  • Transformers
  • Hot Wheels
  • Micro Machines
  • Legos

 

I'm pretty sure I had every one of these!
Photo Credit: cakeplow.com

What are some of your favorite childhood toys?  I know I’m forgetting some and hopefully some of you can jog my memory.

 

If you have kids, did you pass some of your toys down to them?

6 thoughts on “Happy Birth-a-death-a-versary?

  1. Ahh, to be in a position where I could say I’ll soon be 30… Most people feel women are their most beautiful in their 30s, so look what you have ahead of you!

    I was only 11 months apart in age from my brother, so most of my toys were boys’ toys. The only purpose my Barbies served was to be kidnapped so that the GI Joes could save them. 🙂

  2. Haha, yeah, I’m honestly kind of looking forward to it. I’ve always been the youngest in my group of friends and even the new friends that I have gained through my boyfriend are older as he’s got 7 years on me so I’m still the baby and making fun of me is just a reminder of how old they are! I think I’m in a good place in my life and I’ve accomplished enough in my 20s that I won’t look back on it and wish I did something different.

    I think my Barbies were probably kidnapped on several occasions however I didn’t have any brothers to blame!

  3. I had hotwheels and matchbox cars. the main difference was that hot wheels seems to be more concept cars, while Matchbox are based on actual models.
    I still have some Transformers, GI Joe and Star Wars figures/vehicles. The first two I will likely start selling off, but the SW stuff, never!

    1. My boyfriend went through a few months ago and sold all of his transformers. He made a couple grand off of them I think but he had quite a few and they were in pretty good condition. He has a “toy room” in his house (ugh…I’m dating a nerd lol) with all of his Star Wars stuff.

Tell me what you think!

