Snark Attack

I’m embarassed to be admitting this but I just learned this morning that prunes are actually dried plums.  I don’t know where I got it in my head all these years but I actually spent my entire life thinking there actually was some sort of fruit out there called a prune and they just dried them and sold them to us in brightly colored bags.  I guess you really do learn something new every day.

I’m also embarassed today that I call myself a writer and I never knew there was a punctuation mark called a “snark”.  This is probably the coolest punctuation mark ever invented and with my sense of humor, it’s something that I could probably have used these past 29 years!

I’ve often used the word “snarky” (to this day I don’t really know if that’s really a word or not) to describe a certain response or opinion about things but I never knew that there was one little symbol that said the same thing.  How did I not know this?  I could have been saving myself five keystrokes!  Anyways, assuming (hoping) that the rest of you have never heard of a snark or know what pupose it serves, I thought I would tell you a little about it.

Photo Credit: buzzfeed.com

A snark is also known as a Percontation Point or Irony Mark.  It looks like a backwards question mark which I assume is to represent it’s irony.  I’ve never really thought that I could fall in love with a punctuation mark but I’m telling you today folks that this little guy has won my heart over.  His soul purpose is to assist me in making stupid people look even stupider.

OH HAPPY DAY!!!!

Apparently the use of the snark pretty much died out in the 17th century so my research on it this morning has come up short in a few places.  The number one thing that I want to know is exactly where it is supposed to be used?  Is it to be used at the end of a sentence like a regular ole period or question mark?  Should I insert it after the ironic phrase? And more importantly, where is this little critter at on my keyboard???

I finally just made the decision for myself that it should be used as a type of quotation, or like you see in the spanish language, where they put the upside down question mark at the beginning of the sentence and the normal one at the end.

Here are some examples:؟

؟I just love your new haircut, very flattering؟

؟No officer, I swear I didn’t know I had 20 outstanding parking tickets؟

؟I’m sure Melanie will never notice that I took her make up bag, she never uses it anyways.؟

I’m so in love with this snarky little snark!  I think I’m going to try and re-introduce him to the world.  Who’s with me?

At the very least, can we have him added to the keyboard???

***Sidenote, you can create a snark in Word by typing 061f then alt x.  Try it!

6 thoughts on “Snark Attack

  1. Oh, I love learning new things. Thank you! Of course, if I use the symbol, people will think I’m an idiot who can’t make a question mark right…

Tell me what you think!

