Reader Appreciation: The Great Fishy Giveaway of 2012!

I got a notification today that I have officially received 100 “likes”.  That probably isn’t really a crowning achievement for some of you that have been around here for awhile but I thought it was pretty cool.  It either means that 100 times various people have said “Hey, I like that girl, she’s kinda funny!” or “Wow, what a prolific post. This chick could have what it takes to be President one day!”  I realize however, that the more likely reason for this many likes is simply because people feel sorry for me and they think that hitting the like button will boost my morale.

 

Regardless of the fact, I have decided to celebrate my super dooper cool accomplishment by giving back to my loyal followers.  I have seen people do random giveaways before, an easy way to gain more traffic to their blogs, and have pondered doing one myself but I’m pretty broke and literally have nothing of importance to give you guys.

 

Then I thought about making it something really stupid, like a half eaten candy bar or even better, a roll of (unused) toilet paper but then I talked myself out of that because I don’t want to make light of just how much I really appreciate the following I have gained.

 

About 98% of the people who follow this blog are people who have just found me by chance, which I think is a pretty cool victory, no matter how small.  I only have a small handful of readers that I actually know in the “real” world.  What makes that little fact even sadder is that I have this set up to automatically post to Facebook every time I post and even still, my “real” friends don’t read my blog. It’s okay, they will pay when Christmas rolls around!

 

I dug through my desk all morning trying to find something in there that’s worth a darn, something that someone would actually want to win and kept coming up short.

 

Then it finally hit me.

 

One of my absolute favorite things in the world to do is play the claw machine, and I’m pretty darn good at it too!  Just ask anyone who knows me; I’m constantly adding more and more stuffed animals to my collection.  I realize not everyone enjoys stuffed animals near as much as me but I have a lot of parents that read my blog so at the very least, perhaps you could win a stuffed animal for your kid!

 

As lunchtime rolled around I made up my mind that I was going to go to Wal-Mart with the sole intention of playing the claw machine.  I gathered up about $4 in quarters just to be safe and off I went.  I walked in the door, went straight to the claw machine in the lobby (never actually entered the store itself) put two quarters in and BAM I won a prize on the first try…I guess I really am THAT good!

 

I stopped by Sonic on the way back for a Watermelon Sweet Tea (first one I’ve had in like 3 weeks, go me!) which by the way, if you didn’t know this already Sonic drinks are half price all day today, and headed back to the office.

 

I have to say, claw machine prizes have gradually gotten better over the years and quite honestly, I kinda fell in love with this little guy however, being a person of my word, I’m going through with this and giving him away.

 

Here is what you win; I really think he’s quite cute.

 

Okay, so now for the boring part, the rules.

 

  • In order to be put in the running you have to leave a comment on THIS post.  Any comments left on other posts will not be considered for this drawing. (That’s not to say you shouldn’t comment on other posts!)
  • Since the main point of this give-away is to thank my readers, you have to prove that you’ve actually read my blog.  This is not to discourage new readers from entering but you will need to go back and read some previous posts.  For your comment to be considered you need to tell at least one fact about me that you would only know if you have read my posts.  Please don’t copy other people’s answers, be original folks.  You also must be subscribed as a follower of this blog to qualify.
  • Open to US RESIDENTS ONLY.  I hate that I have to do this, the main reason I settled on something light weight was because I knew I had some readers from outside of the US and wanted to include them too.  When I got back to work I checked to see how much it would cost to ship something over seas and found out that to stuff this dumb little fish in a box and ship him across the pond would cost almost $70!  Sorry to you guys, I promise I will come up with something in the future that y’all can participate in.  Suggestions welcome.
  • While you are welcome to comment as many times as you like, only one comment will count towards the drawing, meaning everyone gets ONE entry, that is it.

Contest will end one week from today, 4/24/2012 at 23:59 (that’s 11:59 pm for those of you that don’t know military time) once all entries are received they will be given a number based off the sequential order in which they were received.  After all numbers are assigned I will use Random.Org to choose the winning entry.  The winner will be posted on this blog the following day at which point I will contact you to work out the details.

 

I’ve never done this before so I hope I covered my bases.  Good luck to everyone, I hope you enjoy your little fishy pal, I’m gonna miss him!

10 thoughts on “Reader Appreciation: The Great Fishy Giveaway of 2012!

  1. Hmmm, I know you have a crotchety old gal named Amelia who resides within you…

    Having two boys, I’ve had some claw experience myself. Come to think of it, having two boys, I may have a little “Amelia” experience as well…

  2. I know that your favorite game growing up is the Oregon Trails. Looks very vintage compared to what I grew up with~ JK! 🙂 Thanks!

  3. I know that, like me, you can’t stand to eat chicken on the bone…those little bones are disgusting!

      1. Alternately, thanks for the comment however if you want to be put in the running to win the fishy, please make sure to subscribe to this blog.

Tell me what you think!

