Don’t Quote Me On This

It’s been a slow week for me as far as blogging and I want to apologize for being off the radar a little this week.  I’ve just been going 90 miles an hour lately, the only time I’ve spent at home is literally to sleep.  Last night was my first free night.  I celebrated by cleaning off the DVR and drinking an entire bottle of wine by myself (Oops!).  I did manage to get some much needed sleep though and am finally starting to feel a little more like myself today!

As a writer, I often find myself being very nervous about this blogging thing.  I had promised myself that I wouldn’t take it too seriously but I can’t help it.  The more and more followers (Thanks by the way!) I get, the more I feel like I have to be on my toes with my writing.

I know that no one really does this on purpose but the fact that I have caught myself doing it brings me more aware to the fact that writer’s will constantly critique each other.  If the grammar is not perfect, they smirk, if there are too many commas in a sentence (something I’m very guilty of) they will sigh, when the post just seems to ramble, they shake their heads.  It’s just the way we are.

I never really received any formal training in writing, outside of what I learned in school, it’s just something that I picked up on and enjoyed.  That being said, I know that I may make mistakes from time to time and I appreciate all of you not pointing those things out to me!

Anyways, since I have been plagued with writer’s block lately, I decided to have a little bit of fun at other “writer’s” expense and do a little bit I like to call “Don’t quote me”.

This is basically a compilation of signs that use unneccessary quotation marks….you’ll see what I mean.

There are some things I will take a chance on regarding their trustworthiness, that being said, I think I'll pass on buying fireworks from these guys.
Photo Credit: Huffingtonpost.com
Or at least turn the sink on and make everyone thing you did it.
Photo Credit: Mrmooreismyteacher.com
At last! One that makes sense!
Photo Credit: theconnectedlawyer.com
That's what we want you to believe anyways...
Photocredit: Somisguided.com
What about "B" puppy?
Photo Credit: Chroniclebooks.com
So that's what they're calling it these days. Now I understand why so many people get "massages"
Photo Credit: jacket2.org
Ahh the power of advertising
Photo Credit: Pzrservices.com
No wait, we mean later, no tomorrow, no Friday...oh nevermind!
Photo credit: rotatingcorpse.com
The irony in this one almost makes me sad
Photo Credit: Caulkischeap.com
8 thoughts on “Don’t Quote Me On This

    1. I have a funny story that kinda goes with that one….it involves my friend running through the mall screaming “I’ve got crabs” she was, of course, referring to the hermit crabs we had just bought.

    1. You didn’t know that he was a recovering crack addict that’s been placed on a strict regimen of ridalin and anti-depressants? He needs all the help he can get.

  1. First of all, thanks for dropping by my blog. It made me realize I haven’t checked in here for awhile. But I’ve now pressed that follow button, so my brain will be better reminded.

    Second of all, great post! Talk about quotation mark overload. The “Wash Hands” one really has me nervous.

    And finally, I personally spend little time considering the grammar mistakes of other bloggers, unless the errors are blatant. I guess I read them in a leisurely manner and understand how easy it is to make mistakes. I’m probably not as forgiving in more formally published entries, though. 🙂

    1. Yay, thanks for the follow, I enjoy your blog and glad to see you stopped by and paid me a visit!

      My favorite is the security guard, wouldn’t be near as funny if he wasn’t in full out relaxation mode.

      I guess you’re probably right about the grammar, I don’t normally mind because most of the people I follow are pretty good writers for the most part, it’s the one’s who really have no business writing and there is no structure that drive me batty!

Tell me what you think!

