Ramble, Ramble, Ramble

I had this funny post lined up today that included questions like “Why do eggs smell like farts?” but in light of recent events that occurred in my community, I feel compelled to be slightly more serious today.  Also, when researching the real reason why they smell so bad, I found nothing but super serious, scientific answers and it just killed my funny bone.

 

I stayed home from work yesterday for a number of reasons, the main one being that I wanted to stay at home and keep an eye on my (still sick) pup.  I called in, something I NEVER do, and in fact had full intent on working from home but for whatever reason, the internet gods were against me and wouldn’t allow it.  After two hours of talking to the IT department, I finally threw in the towel and told myself I should try to enjoy my day off.

 

I wound up taking a late morning nap around 11 and woke up to the sound of thunder in the distance, followed about ten minutes later by a torrential down pour.  I sat out on the front porch for a few minutes until I heard the storm sirens at which point I went inside to turn the TV on knowing full well that I wouldn’t have a satellite signal.  Thank goodness for smart phones and their ability to bring the internet straight to the palm of your hand!

 

Honestly, the storm didn’t seem that bad, I got several calls after it passed, people checking up on me.  My satellite came back on just in time for me to see coverage of the storm going through the town that my mom was working in and just about that time I got a panicked call from her.  The sirens were going off and they were being corralled into the store’s panic room.

 

My mom doesn’t do well in stressful situations, at all.  I’m sure she will be physically sick for a week now because of the stress she went through yesterday.  She also freaks out in bad weather, more so than the average person.  When she was small, her family was in a tornado and as her father stood in the doorway holding the door closed (or open, can’t remember which) she freaked out so badly that she actually pushed him out of the way and started running down the street, straight towards the very visible funnel cloud.

 

At that time they lived in a duplex and after her parents caught her, they locked her in the closet.  The closet backed up to the neighbors closet and the elderly woman in there spoke to her and calmed her down, as the storm passed over, the elderly woman got quiet, once it was calm my mom left her closet and went next door to thank the woman, only to find that she had not survived the storm.  I guess with all that said I can understand her anxiety.

 

I’ve lived in “tornado alley” my entire life and have yet to actually witness a tornado.  I’ve seen the destruction and damage that one can do, we even had one hit our house one time while we were out to dinner, but I’ve never actually experienced one and I can’t say that I’m upset about that fact.

 

I’ve always heard people say that it sounds like a freight train coming towards you and since I could just about stand on my front porch and throw a rock at the railroad tracks, my first thought was “How in the heck am I gonna know if it’s a tornado or a train?”  Obviously rational thinking would tell me that most likely a train wouldn’t be coming down the tracks in the middle of a tornado, but you never know.

 

Turns out, I never had to worry about it; we did have two tornadoes touch down in my tiny little town (one of them less than half a mile away) but I never saw any signs of it.  I did get a chance to see some of the destruction this morning as I was going to work; it’s really quite an amazing sight to behold.

 

Last I heard we had a total of twelve twisters in the DFW area yesterday and no fatalities.  That’s an amazing statistic. It must have been pretty big news because I even got a Facebook message from a friend who lives in Germany; apparently they heard about it all the way over there.

 

The true blessing is, at the end of the day, everyone that I know made it through safely and relatively un-harmed.  Mother Nature can be a “you know what!”

 

This one hits pretty close to home because I work in this industry and Schneider is one of our carriers. Photo Credit: KDFW TV
Damage from a tornado that hit on the Dallas side Photo Credit: Myfoxdfw.com

 

I find these things fascinating and could honestly sit and watch them for hours. I just wish they didn't cause so much devastation!

 

 

 

On to something else, I’ve actually received several messages from people asking me for an update on my Winston.  He is resting at home now but is still feeling quite awful.  Poor guy still won’t eat and all he wants to do is lay around.  He doesn’t necessarily sleep; he really just walks around in a stupor all day.  I feel better because he is no longer dehydrated but I’m still quite worried about the little terror, I think I would feel much better however, if I could just get him to eat.  The last food he ate was Thursday night and he’s lost about 12 pounds since then, which is just about 20% his body weight.  I will continue to pump medicine in him and keep my fingers crossed that he starts to feel better soon.

 

And finally, I have to touch on something else as well.  With all the drama and commotion going on these past few days, I pulled the “bad girlfriend” card and completely forgot that it was The Boy’s and my 2nd anniversary.

 

I don’t want anyone to get the wrong impression that I left this for the very end of the post because it doesn’t matter; it’s quite the opposite honestly.  I’m not a very mushy-gushy, emotional person but I am quite thankful for the amazing man in my life.  I’m so happy that he’s put up with me for this long and that two years later, I still get that excited feeling when I know I’m going to see him.  We make fun of each other all the time and I’m sure I’ve said something silly here before that might make someone wonder but we both have the same sarcastic, non-apologetic sense of humor and we both get each other….most of the time.

 

All in all, I’m a VERY lucky girl and I’m very well aware of that.  I hope I do a well enough job of letting him know just how thankful I am for him and his company.  Two years by far outlasts any relationship I’ve been in prior to him and I know this sounds corny but, it’s been the best two years of my life!

4 thoughts on “Ramble, Ramble, Ramble

  1. Best wishes for your pup and the community.
    I agree- strong forces of nature are compelling. I remember sneaking a peek out of my window when hurricane Gloria blasted straight through NYC back in the 80’s. Never forgot how I saw the trees and rain just going over in waves.

    1. It’s quite amazing when you sit down and think about it!

      I came home (or to my parent’s house rather) last night to a fairly happy, almost normal Winston so I think we have finally made it over that hump!

  2. awwww i got gossie’s reading the part about our Wesley. so freakin sweet. you gave him a REAL shout out lol.. i love you too bullie bull lol !!

Tell me what you think!

