I Want to Live in America!

I have never actually seen “West Side Story” but I was in band in high school and I remember we did a “West Side Story” show.  Until that point, I had never even heard of it so all of the songs we were playing were completely foreign to me.  Because of that, I went out and bought a copy of the soundtrack so I could hear and understand the melodies of the songs we were playing.

 

Why am I telling you this?  Well when the idea for today’s blog post popped into my head, my mind automatically started singing:

 

I like the shores of America!

Comfort is yours in America!

Knobs on the doors in America,

Wall-to-wall floors in America!

 

It’s a super catchy little tune and I’m pretty sure I have it stuck in my head, and most likely yours as well.  You’re welcome!

 

As fun loving as that song is, the premise of my blog today is a little, well….sad/patriotic/angry…well pretty much a lot of emotions and opinions center around this topic.  I debated for a long time on whether or not to write this just because it could be seen as controversial.

 

I lie, I debated for ten seconds then I remembered that I’m an American, I’m proud of my country, and I don’t give a hoot what anyone thinks of my American pride.

 

Let me start by saying that this post is in no way intended to berate, belittle, criticize or slam any other country or race.  I know that there are a couple people who follow this blog who are not American and I absolutely have no issue with that whatsoever.  I am a firm believer that we are all created equal and it doesn’t matter where we live, no one is better than anyone else.

 

The attempt of this blog is, however, an attempt to convey my frustration of how my country has basically sold out to other countries just to get a “better deal.”

 

In my job, I work with a client who has outsourced to another country, I’m not 100% sure what country but my first guess would be India.  Here are the problems that I have with this:

 

1) They speak the English broken very bad and much so (that was my attempt to sound like them, not a very successful one at that)

 

2) I can’t pronounce their damn names!!!!  (Kid you not; one of them is actually named Dikshit…promise I didn’t make that up)

 

3)  They apparently have no capacity to retain any information.  I have been at this job for 5 years now and for 5 years I have told the exact same people the EXACT same thing, word for word, at least once a day.

 

4)  They try way too hard to be nice.  If I have to read “I kindly request you to…” one more time, I’m booking a flight to India

 

5) I can’t understand their accents.  Thankfully 98% of my interactions with them are through email, but on the rare occasion I have to speak to them, it sounds more like I’m talking to the automated phone system you have to talk to when you pay a bill.  You all know what I’m talking about.  That conversation always includes this line of text, “no…No….NO…(insert frustrated sigh)…NO!….NOOOOOO!!!”

 

6) (And most importantly) They are taking away jobs from a country that is already in an economic shit-hole

 

I have to give my client some credit at least.  Many companies don’t want consumers to know that when you call you are actually speaking to someone thousands of miles away.  That’s why you call the credit card company and end up speaking with “Peggy”.  At least my client doesn’t try to trick anyone because I honestly can’t remember when the last time was that I said “Hey, me and Goswami are going to lunch.”

Everyone LOVES talking to Peggy...Right?

 

It just frustrates the crap out of me because I KNOW that if I were dealing with an American or at least someone fluent in English my job would be more efficient.  40% of my time in dealing with these people is spent trying to either figure out what they are asking or make them understand what I am telling them.  Take that language barrier out of the equation and we just might get something done in a reasonable amount of time.  I can’t blame these people, they need jobs just like everyone else in the world, and I’m glad they are at least making an effort but the problem is they only hurt more than they help.  When are the yuppies in the penthouse office going to figure that out?

 

The more and more I think about it, the more I realize that I really DO want to live in America.  Yes, physically I am here but what happened to the American dream?  What happened to being a proud country, abundant in hard working people, a group of people proud to let the world know where they came from?

 

I want to live in America.  I want to live in a country where moral values are the backbone of our society, where everyone has an equal opportunity to find a job, where regardless of your age, sex, race, religion, or any other denominational factor, your neighbor will point to you and say “That’s my friend, and I’m proud to know they are my fellow American.”

 

I can’t help but think that the possibilities of any of this ever happening are so impossible that they are ranked up there with pigs flying and unicorns but, I can always dream and hold on to faith…..or move to Canada.

 

I want to live in America.

Tell me what you think!

