Dear, Sweet, Watermelon Tea

Okay, before we get too far into this I would just like to let you all know right off the bat that I have been suffereing from a serious case of writer’s block today and have not been able to come up with anything to write.  That being said, I figured since I was being plagued by someone so hideous and vile as the events described below, it would be a great thing to write about.
Anyone who knows me knows that I get “stuck” on certain foods or drinks, to the point where I will eat/drink that thing everyday for three or four weeks.  One time it was oreos, another time it was nachos from my favorite fast food mexican joint, and even another time I got stuck on grape flavored water.
 I don’t know why I get temporarily addicted to certain things, maybe because of my fear to try new things. I usually give myself two to three choices at each place and don’t normally vary outside of those boundaries.  If I go to a Mexican restaurant, I get either nachos, quesadillas, or chimichangas; Itallian restaurants always result in fettucine alfredo (even though I go in every time saying I’m going to try something new), and Chinese is almost always Kung Pao Chicken with friend rice.  I’ll admit it, I’m not one to be adventurous when it comes to food.
So, about two months ago I stopped by Sonic for Happy Hour, as I do almost every day but this time, instead of ordering my normal “Strawberry Limeade with extra limes” I deviated.
On this fateful day I decided to be somewhat risky and combine two flavors that I had never really thought to combine.  I ordered a large sweet tea(strange in itself because I drink un-sweet tea) with watermelon.
I understand that this combination may sound a bit strange to some, to this day I have to confirm my order to person that lives inside the Sonic speaker box multiple times.  I think it shocks them that anyone in their right mind would put something like watermelon in their tea.
….well….I never claimed to be in my right mind.
Anyways, the main reason that I’m bringing up my love for watermelon tea is because today, my world came crashing down.
For reasons that I will out, in an effort to spare you the graphic details, I learned today that I will have to lay off the tea and all other caffeinated drinks for a few days.  Not really a big deal for the most part considering 98% of my drink consumption is water but it’s that 2% that gets me through the day!  That one little Route 44 sweet watermelon tea.  The very thought of it is what allows me to happily exist from 7-2, knowing that I’m just a little ways away from cool refreshment.
Then to top things off I get this lovely text from my boyfriend, of him at Sonic.
 
*sigh*
Well, I just have to continue to remind myself that it’s only a few days.  Perhaps when things are better and I am in a place where I can partake in caffeine again, I will get two Route 44’s.  And I dare ANYONE to try and take them away from me!
4 thoughts on “Dear, Sweet, Watermelon Tea

Tell me what you think!

