“Mean” Songs

“Mean” Songs

 

You know how you get a certain song stuck in your head and no matter how hard you try, you can’t seem to get the little booger to leave your brain?  Or what about when you think you will outsmart the song and starting singing another that is equally as annoying.  Now do you not only have one song stuck in your head, but now two and they are intermingling with each other. Instead of “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” or “Mary Had a Little Lamb” you are not singing about “Mary’s Twinkling Lamb”.

The worst thing about these ill willed songs is that it’s never the entire song; it’s always just a few words, usually the first line from the chorus.  I mean, if you’re going to torture me Mr. Song, why not do it full force?

So all night last night, every time that I would wake up (which was quite often) I would find myself singing the same thing over and over and over.  First off, let me preface that I am not a huge fan of Taylor Swift.  I’m pretty sure that anyone that knows me on a personal level can agree that I’ve made that no secret.  It’s nothing against her personally in fact; I think it’s great that there is finally a young, female, role model that the younger generation can actually look up to.  I think it’s great that they can finally see that there is more to success than power and corruption, or drugs and alcohol.  So for that, I hope that she continues her career and continues to be successful.  I just don’t care for her music.

Why is it then, that every time I woke up last night I had “Someday I’ll be, living in a big ‘ole city, and all you’re ever gonna be is mean” over and over a million times in my head?  I even found that turning the radio on to something completely opposite from Taylor Swift-ish music (they call it country but it’s not the country I remember growing up on) had absolutely no effect whatsoever.

So here I am sitting at work this morning and since I get here before everyone else, I normally enjoy the peace and quiet.  This morning however, I’m praying that someone would come in and start ranting and raving about something.

I know every office has to have that group of people.  The one’s that sit 5 feet from each other but still feel the need to scream at each other when talking about personal stuff.  And they always belong to the early shift.  They come in at 6 or 7 and want to talk about everything that their dog did last night or how many cucumbers they have in their garden.  As if those types of conversations aren’t bad enough, they have to elaborate.

Kid you not, the other day the “Silence Pirates” were discussing the matter of quirky (that’s the word they used, I referred to most of these things as downright weird) habits.  Now, we all know that this is a topic that can go south quickly and, I would assume, most people would take into consideration the ears of those around them when they discuss such things.  But Silence Pirates don’t care.  They just want to be heard and they will go to all extremes to make sure that everyone within a 3 mile radius stops everything they do to listen to them.  These mean little Pirates have the audacity to think that we actually care about their problems.

At one point, I overheard the following statement:

“My feet sweat a lot, that’s why I take my shoes off so much.  I don’t even wear shoes at home.  And if my feet get really hot, I will go stick them in the toilet.”

Excuse me?  You do WHAT?  Seriously, why, why, why, why, why, would you first, do that, and secondly, admit to doing it?  And let’s not forget that you are screaming to the person 5 feet away so all 50 people in the office can hear you!  Thank goodness this was before the rest of the office came in because I’m pretty sure there would have been an absolute explosion of laughter.

Are people really just that oblivious?  Have we been so desensitized that common etiquette has just been thrown to the wayside?

The more and more I think about it now, the more I think my girl Taylor Swift sounds like an excellent musical choice.  Anyone got a CD of hers I can listen to?

3 thoughts on ““Mean” Songs

  1. speaking of songs getting stuck in your head, the truth about Friday http://forbettergenius.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/rebecca-black-friday-truth/ . not really related to the end half of your article, but still.

    btw, yahhhh some of Swift’s songs have a tendency to stick in my head too and it’s never intentional. they come on the car radio and, since no radio station around me is really better than any other, i may leave the song on soon to find that 5 hours later i can still hear it

  2. You want to know an amazing fact?

    I have, to this day, yet to hear “Friday”. I have no clue how I have managed to avoid it, I’ve heard the spoofs, but never the original!

    I’ve learned to love the auxillary adapter in my car that allows me to stream Pandora as I’m going down the road!

    1. as I mention in my post too, not quite as lucky as you, but i’ve heard/seen max 1 minute of this song and yet i was still able to write about it with full knowledge. haha i was almostttttt tempted to watch it, given it was my subject, but at 1min i said no more

Tell me what you think!

