Dream a Little Dream

Have you ever had a dream that is so real that it makes you physically angry when you wake up?  You can be laying there in bed, minding your own business and then BAM! The nasty dream monster decides to have a little fun and mess with your head.  What’s even worse is you still believe whatever terrible thing happened in your dream really did happen until you come fully into consciousness.

 

This happens to my mom and step dad all the time.  My mom is infamous for having very vivid dreams and most of the time they are about my step dad.  She will dream that he’s cheating on her or doing something hideous and while he’s laying there next to her in the bed, causing as little trouble as one can while asleep, she will wake up in the middle of the night screaming and yelling at him.  I’ve never personally seen this happen however I think that it has to be comical to some degree…especially for a third party.

 

I had one of these dreams the other night.  I don’t really remember the details but I know it had something to do with my boyfriend.  I know that I had moved into his house with him and we got into a fight because everything in the house was “his” and nothing was “ours” which made me feel un-welcome.  I also remember being extremely pissed at him because all he wanted to do was watch TV while I was, very loudly, packing all of my things to leave. (Typical man! ha-ha)  I also remember being extremely angry at my dog, Piper.  Apparently she had moved with me, no clue where the other two were, and she was sitting in his lap on the couch and would not come with me when I was ready to leave.

 

I reckon he’s lucky we don’t live together because I was “spitting mad” when I woke up.  So much so that it completely ruined my entire day and put me in a foul mood.  I didn’t want to speak to anyone, even after I had come to the realization that it was just a dream.

 

How in the world can we let something as simple as a dream get to us?  Is it because we are trained to believe that there is a little truth to dreams?  I don’t really know if I believe that or not but what I DO believe is that our minds subconsciously make these things up for a reason.  I don’t really know if I want to know what half of my dreams mean, I might be shocked to know what my mind is really thinking, but it is intriguing how the mind works isn’t it?

 

Did anyone ever tell you that nighttime was the brains chance to relax and chill?  Do you know how WRONG that is?

 

CAUTION:  The following paragraphs could be perceived as a science lesson and reading them may result in you actually learning something.  If you do not wish to gain any sort of intelligence then you most likely should not continue reading this post.

 

First off, did you know that the average adult has 5 dreams a night (that comes out to roughly 146,000 dreams over a span of 80 years!)?  Considering I almost NEVER remember my dreams, I found that to be a pretty shocking statistic.  That being said, I also learned today that the only time you DO remember a dream is if you are woken up in the middle of said dream.  Now that’s interesting stuff!  I always thought I was a pretty light sleeper but apparently not!

 

I guess it makes sense that the brain would continue to function as if nothing changed from day to day.  Think about it, the brain controls every function in of your body, important things like, oh I dunno, your organs.  This goes without saying (but I’m saying it anyways) but if your brain stops, your heart stops, if your heart stops, well, you know the rest.

 

There is a lot more that the brain takes care of while we are sleeping but I have to admit, all of this talk about sleep is making me want a nap!

Tell me what you think!

